

2000 Anchorage Port Road
Anchorage, Alaska 99501
907-343-6200
PortOfAlaska@anchorageak.gov
PortOfAlaska.com

Anchorage Port Commission Special Meeting Minutes Date: July 22, 2021 Scheduled Time: 10am – 1pm Location: Port Commission Chambers

Present	Port Commissioners:	Ron Ward, Chair; Garret Wong, Vice Chair; Paul Mehler;
		Chris Manculich; Mike Robbins; Scott Selzer; Aves
		Thompson
	Staff:	Steve Ribuffo, Port Director; Jim Jager, Director of
		Security and Business Development; Ronnie Poole, Ops
		& Maintenance Superintendent; Diane Bickford,
		Executive Assistant
	Guests:	Bal Dreyfus, Dylan Faber, Jennifer Tungul, Matson; Art
		Dahlin, Mike Thrasher, TOTE; Lev Yampolsky, Pat Duffy,
		Petrostar; Tom Reuter, ALAMAR; Jeff Johnson, Cook
		Inlet Tug & Barge; Scott Dewandel, ABI; Ross Risvold,
		MOA CFO; Robert Owens, MOA Municipal Attorney's
		Office; Kayla MacEwen; Brenden Cooney; John Long;
		Paul Fuhs; Mark Nielsen
Absent	Port Commissioners:	Peggy Rotan, Kevin Mackey
	Staff:	Staff attendance was not required

- I. The meeting was called to order at 10am Commissioner, staff, and guest attendance is as shown above. There was a quorum, although one was not needed.
- **II. Pledge of Allegiance** Led by Commissioner Ward.
- **III. Safety Minute –** Mr. Ribuffo reviewed building evacuation plan.
- IV. Approval of Agenda
 - A. Was moved for approval by Commissioner Robbins and seconded by Commissioner Thompson. The agenda was approved unanimously.
- V. New Business Presentation of recommendation for a tariff surcharge to support future Port of Alaska Modernization Program design and construction activities was made by Mr. Ross Risvold (CFO's Office) Mr. Risvold introduced himself, then made his presentation on the details of the proposed cargo dock surcharge using an eight-slide PowerPoint (attached) hereto. There were several clarifying questions asked by the commissioners, which Mr. Risvold answered in turn or took down to provide answers later. At the conclusion of the presentation, Commission Chair Ward thanked Mr. Risvold for the presentation, and reminded all that this meeting was for introducing the information; and that discussion and a decision were scheduled for the next regularly scheduled meeting on August 10, 2022. Mr. Risvold promised to answer the questions he could not at the meeting before the August 10 meeting. Commission Chair Ward then opened the floor for public comment.
- VI. Public Comment Mr. Bal Dreyfus from Matson commented that he believed the proposed surcharge is fair, and Matson is looking forward to its adoption. Mr. Art Dahlin from TOTE commented that his company was concerned about what might be an unfair surcharge responsibility being levied on TOTE given the difference in the cost of infrastructure when the berth TOTE needs is compared to the berth Matson



needs. Mr. Yampolsky from Petrostar reiterated Commissioner Mehler's request for a better understanding of the per ton/per barrel surcharge for petroleum, as well as a how it applies to the "user pay" model currently in place for the PCT.

- VII. Commissioner Closing Comments Commissioners thanked Mr. Risvold for his presentation. Various commissioners also commented about how important and necessary this step was and that it may take a couple more sessions before they're ready to vote. Commissioner Ward commented that it was likely no decision would be made at the August 10 meeting and that he looked forward to seeing the answers to the questions posed today be the Commissioners. He also told Mr. Risvold that there may be more questions from the Commissioners in advance of the August 10 meeting.
- VIII. Meeting Adjourned at 11:40am.