

2000 Anchorage Port Road
Anchorage, Alaska 99501
907-343-6200
PortOfAlaska@anchorageak.gov
PortOfAlaska.com

Anchorage Port Commission Meeting Minutes Date: October 24, 2022 Scheduled Time: 12 pm – 1:30 pm Location: Port Commission Chambers

Present	Port Commissioners:	Chair Ron Ward, Vice Chair Garret Wong, Paul Mehler,
11000111		Kevin Mackey, Chris Manculich, Mike Robbins, Peggy
		Rotan, Scott Selzer, Aves Thompson
	Staff:	Cheryl Beckham (Finance and Administration Manager), Jim Jager (Director of Security and Business Development), John Daley (PAMP Engineering Manager), Paul Rotkis (Safety Coordinator), Diane Bickford (Executive Assistant), Kathleen King (Accounts Receivable Clerk), Karen Schaf (Accounts Payable Clerk), Chris Smith (Port GIS Technician). Port Director Steve Ribuffo was traveling and signed on late.
	Guests:	Ross Risvold, Kolby Hickel, Robert Owens, Cynthia Weed, Grant Yutrzenka, and Steve Kantor (MOA); Bert Mattingly (Menzies); Chris Vernon (North Star); Vic Angoco and Dylan Faber (Matson); Alex Hofeling, Art Dahlin and Mike Thrasher (TOTE); Casey Sullivan (Marathon), Lev Yampolsky (Petro Star); Dave Karp (Saltchuk/for Delta Western); Brittney Kennington and Tom Reuter (ALAMAR); Lou Lansangan (SDDC); Sen. Roger Holland (SOA Legislature); Karl Hill (Igiugig Village Council); Bill Falsey; Teddy Pease; Joe Misenti; Schawna Thoma
Absent	Port Commissioners:	
	Staff:	Ronnie Poole (Operations and Maintenance
		Superintendent), Brian Weigand (Engineering Manager)

- **I. Meeting was called to order at 12:05 pm –** Commissioner, Staff, and Guest attendance is as shown above. There was a quorum.
- II. Pledge of Allegiance Led by Commission Chair Ward
- **III. Safety Minute –** Mr. Rotkis expanded on the theme of this year's Fire Prevention "Fire Won't wait...Plan Your Escape." Fire prevention month and escape ladders
- IV. Approval of Agenda Commissioner Manculich moved for approval and seconded by Commissioner Mehler. The agenda was approved unanimously with changes made to include under New Business public speaking opportunities for Petro Star, Delta Western, and Menzies.
- V. Approval of Minutes of September 28, 2022 Vice Chair Wong moved to approve the minutes as presented; seconded by Commissioner Mehler. The minutes were unanimously approved with no edits.



- **VI. Informational Items –** Port staff members submitted written comments that were provided to the commissioners in lieu of briefings to provide time for surcharge discussion.
- **VII. New Business –**Mr. Mattingly, Mr. Yampolsky, and Mr. Karp provided comments to commissioners, followed by Q&A session with commissioners. Details are available in in meeting recording.
- VIII. Old Business Discussion about proposed surcharge for PAMP debt service. Mr. Risvold led review of presentation he made last meeting, with added comments and positions from Mr. Kantor and Ms. Weed. These three presenters answered questions from commissioners. Commissioners discussed proposed surcharge and options. Vice Chair Wong moved to accept surcharge as presented and Commissioner Manculich seconded. Additional debate on the motion then commenced, after which the Chair called for the vote. Commission postponed the vote until after agenda items IX and X were heard. After hearing public comments port director's comments, the Commission voted 5-yes to 3 No to approve the motion to recommend the surcharge to the Assembly for inclusion into the Port terminal tariff. Details are in the recorded transcript.
 - **IX.** Public Comments Comments were made by Mr. Hofeling and Mr. Angoco, stating their companies' concerns and experiences in similar surcharge situations. Details are in the recorded transcript.
 - X. Port Director's Closing Comments Mr. Ribuffo used his time to clarify questions raised during the public comments. Details are in the recorded transcript.
 - XI. Commissioners Closing Comments Waived in the interest of time.
- XII. Next Meeting: December 14, 2022
- XIII. Meeting Adjourned at 2:36 pm