

2000 Anchorage Port Road
Anchorage, Alaska 99501
907-343-6200
PortOfAnchorage@Muni.org
PortOfAnc.com

Port of Anchorage Commission Meeting
Date: October 23, 2019
Time: 12:00 – 1:30 pm

Location: Port Commission Chambers

D	D	Donal Konner Obrain Data Davidavaski Mara Obrain Maine
Present	Port Commissioners:	Brad Kroon, Chair; Bob Pawlowski, Vice Chair; Moire
		Duggan (teleconference); Stephanie Kesler; Simon
		Lisiecki; Andrew MacLeod; Aves Thompson; Ron Ward;
		Garret Wong (teleconference)
	Staff:	Steve Ribuffo, Port Director; Sharen Walsh, Deputy Port
		Director; Cheryl Beckham, Director of Finance; Jim
		Jager, Director of External Affairs; Paul Rotkis, Port
		Safety Coordinator
	Guests:	Bill Wilks, Parrish-Blessing; Alex Hofeling, TOTE
		Maritime Alaska; Jason Bockenstedt, Deputy Chief of
		Staff to the Mayor; Chris Vernon, North Star; Bert
		Mattingly, AFSC; Ryan Zins and Scott Dewandel, ABI;
		Tom Rueter and Britney Kennington, Alaska Maritime;
		Paul Mehler, Marathon Petroleum; Alan Scott, SDDC:
		Bart Buesseler, NOAA Office of Coast Survey; Alex
		Slivka, Municipality Chief Fiscal Officer; Roe
		Sturgulewski, Ascent; Eugene Haberman; Lev
		Yampolsky, Petrostar; Mike Thrasher, TOTE Maritime;
		Jeff Bool, Jacobs Engineering; Lori Galloway, General
		Manager, Matson; Suzanne LaFrance, Municipal
		Assembly; Mike Whitline, AISA; Trence Carbaugh. AFFC
		(teleconference);
Absent	Port Commissioners:	None
	Staff:	Stuart Greydanus, Port Operations Director

I. The meeting was called to order at 12:03pm

Commissioner Kroon requested a moment of silence in honor of Mr. Marion Davis of Matson who passed away on June 18th.

- A. Roll Call of Port Commissioners
- B. Self-introduction by those present

II. Safety Minute (Paul Rotkis)

Mr. Rotkis presented on the proper technique for handling a fire extinguisher, in keeping with October being Fire Prevention Month.

III. Approval of Agenda

- A. Commissioner Pawlowski moved to approve the Agenda as submitted; seconded by Commissioner Lisiecki.
- B. The Agenda was approved unanimously as presented.



IV. Approval of Minutes

- A. There were no minutes to approve.
- V. Public Comments There were none at this time.
- VI. Port Director's Comments The Port Director deferred comments so that the tariff discussion could begin.
- **VII. Informational Items** Staff information items were similarly deferred to allow sufficient time to cover the tariff information.
- VIII. Old Business There was no Old Business
 - IX. New Business
 - A. Port of Alaska Terminal Tariff 9.0. Jason Bockenstedt made opening comments on behalf of the Municipality and Port, then turned the presentation over to Mr. Wilks of Parrish-Blessing to lay out the plan for the next tariff update. Approximately one hour of presentation and spirited Q&A followed. After Mr. Wilks' presentation, Chair Kroon opened the floor to public comments. Mr. Hofeling made comments on behalf of the Port User Group, and presented his comments—read from a letter—to the Commission. Mr. Haberman also offered comments as did Mr. Mehler. After public comments, Commissioner Ward made a motion to approve the tariff change that called for a baseline increase of \$81million with rate smoothing over nine years, and with financing from a source with reasonable debt service rates. The motion was seconded by Commissioner Lisiecki. Discussion followed between the Commissioners. After approximately one hour of additional debate, a rollcall vote on the motion was taken:
 - a. In Favor: Commissioners Pawlowski, Ward, Lisiecki, Wong, Duggan
 - b. Opposed: Commissioners Kroon, Kesler, MacLeod, Thompson
 - c. Motion passed 5 to 4

NOTE: Because of the extensive, detailed, commentary of these proceedings, a copy of the complete transcript is available on the Port web site.

- X. Commissioners Around the Horn Thanks were offered to the Port staff and Parrish Blessing for all the preparatory work. Mr. Ribuffo took the opportunity to recognize Commissioner McLeod for receiving the Anchorage Chamber of Commerce's President's Award.
- XI. Next Meeting: November 13, 2019
- XII. Meeting Adjourned at 2:10pm