

2000 Anchorage Port Road
Anchorage, Alaska 99501
907-343-6200
PortOfAlaska@anchorageak.gov
PortOfAlaska.com

## Anchorage Port Commission Meeting Minutes Date: July 5, 2023 Scheduled Time: 12pm – 2pm

Location: Port of Alaska Conference Room/virtual via Microsoft Teams

Present	Port Commissioners:	Ron Ward, Chair; Scott Selzer; Chris Manculich; Peggy Rotan;
		Aves Thompson; Mike Robbins
	Staff:	Steve Ribuffo, Port Director; Cheryl Beckham, Finance and
		Administration Manager; Ronnie Poole, Operations and
		Maintenance Superintendent; John Daley, PAMP Engineer
		Manager; Jim Jager, Deputy Director Programs, Policy, and
		Security; Paul Rotkis, POA Safety
	Guests:	Eric Adams (Jacobs Engineering); Vic Angoco, Jennifer Tungul
		(Matson); Lev Yampolsky (PetroStar); Mike Thrasher (TOTE);
		Bert Mattingly (ASIG); Jesse Carlstrom (DEC); Jade Amble; Jeff
		Johnson; Bill Falsey
Absent	Port Commissioners:	Paul Mehler, Kevin Mackey
	Staff:	Diane Bickford, Kathleen King

**NOTE:** Port Engineer Manager Brian Weigand is not listed because he resigned his position and moved out of state since the last meeting.

- **I. Meeting called to order at 12:05 PM –** Commissioners, staff, and guest attendance is as shown above. There was a quorum.
- **II.** Pledge of Allegiance Not performed.
- **III.** Safety Minute Not performed.
- IV. Approval of Agenda Commission Chair Ward asked members present to agree to abbreviated meeting to handle the two new business items and forego regular agenda. Commissioner Thompson seconded Chair's motion. All the Commissioners present agreed, and meeting proceeded.
- V. Approval of Minutes of May 3, 2023, Meeting Deferred until next meeting.
- VI. Port Director's Comments None provided.
- VII. Informational Items None provided.
- VIII. Old Business No old business to discuss.
- IX. Correspondence Received by the Commission None received.



## X. New Business – Meeting focused on two scheduled items of new business:

- a. Select new Commission vice-chair The resignation of Vice-Chair Garret Wong created a vacancy. Commission Chair Ward suggested that member with seniority might be best way to fill the vacancy. Commissioner Thompson's name was offered. Commissioner Robbins made the motion and Commissioner Manculich seconded. Commissioner Thompson was unanimously elected vice-chair (quorum was present).
- b. Approval of a Port Commission Letter to the Assembly Because; 1) significant time had passed since Commission made its original recommendation to Anchorage Assembly regarding implementation of a surcharge to cover costs of debt service associated with the PAMP, and 2) because several commissioners changed their position regarding surcharge since first vote, and 3) because lack of Commission member unanimity on original vote was raised by some port users to argue that Assembly should not approve proposed surcharge Commission Chair Ward asked commissioners to update their positions to show Commission's position to Anchorage Assembly before scheduled public hearing and Assembly surcharge vote on July 25, 2023.

Commission Chair Ward also asked the body to go on record to support cargo dock basis of design that Design Advisory Board proposed to Assembly that was also being voted on at the July 25<sup>th</sup> Assembly meeting. There was no objection to this suggestion.

Toward those ends, Port of Alaska staff drafted a and provided a letter to commissioners for their consideration and editing as needed. After some discussion and agreed-upon edits, Commission Chair Ward called for a roll call vote. Commissioners voted and the letter was approved with the unanimous vote (quorum was present).

## XI. Public Comments – Chair did not request.

## XII. Port Director's Closing Comments – Mr. Ribuffo closed addressing three points:

- a. He told commissioners about two upcoming Assembly activities of interest. First was a one-hour Assembly work session about Port of Alaska's proposed surcharge and cargo dock basis of design on Friday, July 21, at 11:40am in City Hall's Assembly Meeting Room. Second was the Assembly meeting at the Loussac Library on July 25<sup>th</sup> when both these issues would have their public hearings and be voted upon, unless postponed again.
- b. Mr. Ribuffo also introduced Mr. Eric Adams, who was selected by Jacobs Engineering to replace David Ames as the lead for the PAMP project management office.
- c. Finally, Mr. Ribuffo extended an invitation to the August 16 dedication of the newly completed Sea Services Memorial, sponsored by the Anchorage Chapter of the Navy League, at the Ship Creek Small Boat Launch. The memorial commemorates both USS Anchorage vessels, leaves room for a future commemoration of the USS Ted Stevens, and highlight a ship's bell that has been donated and which once was part of a WW II US Marine Corps facility at Dutch Harbor. Commissioner Thompson, who participated in the planning and fundraising efforts for the memorial, provided photographs and additional background information.
- **XIII. Commissioners Closing Comments** Commission Chair Ward asked Mr. Ribuffo to send commissioners directions to remotely attend July 25, 2023, Assembly meeting. Commissioner



Robbins moved to cancel Commissions July 26, 2023, meeting and was seconded by Commissioner Selzer. Commission unanimously voted to cancel the meeting (quorum was present).

- XIV. Next Meeting: September 27, 2023, noon-2pm
- XV. Meeting Adjourned at 12:40 PM